Settings for existing users won’t be affected but the company will send reminders about the feature.
The change comes after Google added new controls last year that allow users to effectively put an expiry date on their data, by providing the option to auto-delete location history, search, voice and YouTube activity data after three or 18 months.
The company is also making it easier to toggle in and out of incognito mode while using its Search, Maps and YouTube mobile apps by doing a long press on the profile photo. In incognito mode, Google doesn’t remember any activity during online browsing.
In another change, users will get easier access to their controls when doing Google searches. If they’re signed into their Google accounts and search for terms like “Google Privacy Checkup,” they will see a box only visible to them with their privacy and security settings.
- Five ways to make Google Glass appeal to businesses
- Must-Know Privacy Tips for Google, Facebook and Other Online Services
- How to manage your Google Account on your Android phone
- Google Amends Terms to Clarify That Data is Analyzed for Ads
- European Privacy Authorities Ask Google to Tweak March Policy Change
- Google+ Privacy: 5 Settings You Need to Know
- 10 Ways Google is the New Microsoft
- Is Google's Copying Complaint Fair Or Hypocritical?
- Does Bing's New Social Search Pose Privacy Problems?
- Does Google Know Too Much About You?
- Fear of Facebook: 7 free apps that guard your privacy
Google tweaks privacy settings to keep less user data have 290 words, post on ciso.economictimes.indiatimes.com at June 25, 2020. This is cached page on Konitono.Blog. If you want remove this page, please contact us.